Jump to content

Canada's top-tier Telescopes & Accessories
Be as specific as possible when reporting issues and *ALWAYS* include the full version number of the application you are using and your exact *CAMERA MODEL*
  • 0
dkkdwhite

Saving Settings & Camera Driver

Question

I downloaded and re-installed the purchased premium addition after the trial version had expired.
 
Several issues:
 
1.  I cannot get it to remember the camera to use despite clicking the "Remember" box each time it connects.
 
2.  I have to re-enter the settings each time I launch the program.  It always opens with default settings and I have to reenter everytime I launch or when it locks up (which it does with some frequency).
 
3.  You really can't abort an image capture session.  It says "Aborting" and the circle spins, but nothing happens.  The application is essentially frozen and has to be killed and restarted, requiring going through 1 and 2 again.
 
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Guylain,

I resolved the issue.  Everytime I would connect the camera, the EOS Utility would launch.  I would close this app out and then attempt to reconnect.  Sometimes it would connect, other times the log would tell me EOS Utilities was running (even though it appeared to be closed down).  In all cases, whenever I relaunched BYE, I would have to reenter the camera info and settings.  I finally uninstalled EOS Utilities and BYE connects to the camera and saves the camera and settings without a hitch.

Thanks for your support.

 

Greg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

There was no need to download or re-install a new copy of the software after purchasing. All you needed to do was to apply your new license to the same copy of the software.

What version are you running? You should always state which version of the software you have an issue with. If it is 3.1.16 then you need to install 3.1.17 (from the Pre-release area).

If you still have a problem saving settings. What settings? In order to save a capture plan you must have a Premium license and then save the plan before you start imaging. If you are talking about information on the Settings screen then, try installing the software to a new directory. This has solved the same issue for others.

I have used many versions of BYE with a couple of different cameras over several years and have never had a problem aborting an image capture as long as the camera is still connected. What camera model are you using?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Quote

1.  I cannot get it to remember the camera to use despite clicking the "Remember" box each time it connects.

This seems to be a Windows read/write privilege issue since the settings are not saved.

The easiest fix for this is to reinstall BYE in a different folder

 
Quote

2.  I have to re-enter the settings each time I launch the program.  It always opens with default settings and I have to reenter everytime I launch or when it locks up (which it does with some frequency).

Same as #1.

 
Quote

3.  You really can't abort an image capture session.  It says "Aborting" and the circle spins, but nothing happens.  The application is essentially frozen and has to be killed and restarted, requiring going through 1 and 2 again.

Let's see if this works after the re-install as well. 

 

Regards,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Guylain,

Thanks for the follow up.  I reinstalled, but haven't connected the camera yet.  I fighting through the installation of an autoguider on an Atlas mount presently.  Will let you know within a day or so.  Thanks for the interest.

 

Greg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, dkkdwhite said:

Guylain,

I resolved the issue.  Everytime I would connect the camera, the EOS Utility would launch.  I would close this app out and then attempt to reconnect.  Sometimes it would connect, other times the log would tell me EOS Utilities was running (even though it appeared to be closed down).  In all cases, whenever I relaunched BYE, I would have to reenter the camera info and settings.  I finally uninstalled EOS Utilities and BYE connects to the camera and saves the camera and settings without a hitch.

Thanks for your support.

 

Greg

Glad it is working now.  A+

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies to offer your a better browsing experience. You can adjust your cookie settings. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies, our Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Use