Canada's top-tier Telescopes & Accessories
Be as specific as possible when reporting issues and *ALWAYS* include the full version number of the application you are using and your exact *CAMERA MODEL*
NEVER POST YOUR KEY IN ANY PUBLIC FORUM, INCLUDING THE O'TELESCOPE SUPPORT FORUM ::: IF YOU DO YOUR KEY WILL BE DEACTIVATED WITHOUT NOTICE!

Planetary Imaging

AdamButko

Question

I'm relatively new to Backyard EOS and astrophotography in general, so excuse me if this is silly. I've shot the moon numerous times and successfully captured Orion Nebula with 30 second exposures without trailing stars, so I'm becoming familiar with the equipment and terminology ... very slowly.

Now I have my sights set on shooting Jupiter. I'm fiddling around with Backyard EOS 1.0.3, trial edition, will likely purchase upon expiry if I can figure this out. I'm using a Nikon D300. Under the Planetary tab, I do not have a 5x zoom option (see attached image). I've also ran some video trials and all my images come out at 640x426 resolution, which is stated in the file name. Any idea how to access the 5x zoom feature, or increase the resolution?

Thanks, clear skies!

Adam

Double posted, my apologies, please remove one!

post-10174-0-79423300-1449434988_thumb.jpg

• Answers 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Has the ability to record planetary videos in resolutions better than 640x480 been implemented in BYN yet?

I just tried with the trial 2.0.2 and whilst 5x video recording works, I still only manage to get low res 640x480 .AVI videos.

I have a Nikon D750.

P.S. Also the help displayed in planetary help BYN refers to BYE (the canon version) - it should refer to Nikon, I would have thought.  See attached screenshot.

post-16616-0-09312200-1491396051_thumb.png

Has the ability to record planetary videos in resolutions better than 640x480 been implemented in BYN yet?

I just tried with the trial 2.0.2 and whilst 5x video recording works, I still only manage to get low res 640x480 .AVI videos.