Canada's top-tier Telescopes & Accessories
Be as specific as possible when reporting issues and *ALWAYS* include the full version number of the application you are using and your exact *CAMERA MODEL*
NEVER POST YOUR KEY IN ANY PUBLIC FORUM, INCLUDING THE O'TELESCOPE SUPPORT FORUM ::: IF YOU DO YOUR KEY WILL BE DEACTIVATED WITHOUT NOTICE!

Filename too long

glwhitbeck@gmail.com

Question

I'm new to this. Just downloaded BYE and I am having a problem. I can communicate quite well with my Canon T5i, but it never downloads any of the images. I've tried virtually every combination (camera card, PC, both, temp folders...) I just can't get it to download anything. I am able to do it with the EOS Utility and NO, they aren't open at the same time. I'm using windows 7 What can I do. I've read quite a few of the forums and have seen users with the same problem, but I was not able to find the solution. Thank you for your time.

• Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

5 answers to this question

The subject of your post is "Filename too long" but you don't explain this in your post. 

I am using BYE 3.1.6 on a Windows 7 x64 PC to control my T5i, so your configuration is not unique. I have no problem with names being too long, so what you are seeing is something unique to your setup and something that should be easily fixable.

If the filename is truly too long then it is likely that you are not having a problem downloading the image from the camera.  If this is so, you should look in the BackyardTEMP\Download folder and see your image files.

BYE stores the downloaded image in the BackyardTEMP\Download folder and does some processing.  The last step is to rename the image and move it to your specified Download folder.  If this step fails due to a Windows error it could be what you are seeing.