Jump to content

Canada's top-tier Telescopes & Accessories
Be as specific as possible when reporting issues and *ALWAYS* include the full version number of the application you are using and your exact *CAMERA MODEL*
NEVER POST YOUR KEY IN ANY PUBLIC FORUM, INCLUDING THE O'TELESCOPE SUPPORT FORUM ::: IF YOU DO YOUR KEY WILL BE DEACTIVATED WITHOUT NOTICE!
  • 0

Suggestion - restore camera settings on disconnect


deanrowe
 Share

Question

I have a suggestion for something I'd really like to see added to BYE - restore the camera setting on disconnect. I don't use BYE often, and when I do its just for focus. Three times now I have had imaging sessions ruined because I didn't realize that BYE had changed the camera from shooting RAW to shooting small JPGs. I always shoot RAW, so I never change the setting. Twice I've had astro sessions ruined because I forgot to reset the camera to RAW and one time I had a non-astro shoot a few days later ruined because I had used BYE earlier. It seems to me that the polite thing to do is return things to the way you found them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 1
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Not a bad suggestion. You should add a post to the Suggestion Box Forum to that affect. Of course, it all depends on BYE being able to do a normal disconnect from the camera. It would not be possible to restore settings if a session ended because the camera shut down due to a low battery or a sudden disconnect. There are many more occurrences that would prevent BYE from restoring camera settings, so any solution would not be fool-proof.

I assume that you are using an interval timer for your captures, but a workaround is obviously to use BYE for your captures. You can set BYE to capture raw images, and you can monitor and review the images while you are capturing. You can also save the images to the memory card in the camera.

BYE always takes images from Frame & Focus as small JPG files. This is not currently changeable. So another workaround is to set BYE to shoot RAW images and then take one image from the Imaging tab before disconnecting.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies to offer your a better browsing experience. You can adjust your cookie settings. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies, our Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Use