Jump to content

Canada's top-tier Telescopes & Accessories
Be as specific as possible when reporting issues and *ALWAYS* include the full version number of the application you are using and your exact *CAMERA MODEL*
  • 0
orionphile

File Save Protocol

Question

Been running BKYEOS almost since its inception  Recently upgraded to latest version as I switched from windows XP to windows 10 (shudder).  I have preset my Canon DSLR to save only in RAW mode.  Never had an issue until my upgrade.  On one of my first imaging runs, noticed my subs were saved as both RAW and JPEG.  Went to my camera and sure enough it was reset to those two formats for saving files.  Reset the DSLR again to RAW only.  During the recent imaging run I monitored the camera window and sure enough it went back to RAW/JPEG again.  Played this reset game twice more before I gave up and let it save about 75 subs in both formats.  I have been told this issue occurs if you accept the install default option that places the downloaded program files in the Windows directory.  I was advised to reinstall the program into a directory such as C:/Bye.  Two questions:

1. Has anyone run into this issue - my DSLR is a modified Rebel Xsi.  Is this the proper fix?

2. By re-installing according to this guidance, do I need to pay a new fee for the added install?

Thanks for any advice you can render!

Frank Puzycki - 9088500922

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Frank,

BYE changes the camera's settings based on what is specified in BYE. You most likely have RAW+JPG selected as your image quality on the BYE Settings dialog.

The image formats have nothing to do with the installation location. There is no need to re-install BYE, but if you did your existing license would still be good and there would be no need to re-purchase BYE, even if you installed to a second PC (according to the license).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

This behavior has not changed since BYE version 1.  This setting is saved in the Setting window.  You must have changed it 10 years ago and forgot you had done so; you need to make the change in BYE's setting window :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies to offer your a better browsing experience. You can adjust your cookie settings. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies, our Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Use