Jump to content

Canada's top-tier Telescopes & Accessories
Be as specific as possible when reporting issues and *ALWAYS* include the full version number of the application you are using and your exact *CAMERA MODEL*
NEVER POST YOUR KEY IN ANY PUBLIC FORUM, INCLUDING THE O'TELESCOPE SUPPORT FORUM ::: IF YOU DO YOUR KEY WILL BE DEACTIVATED WITHOUT NOTICE!
  • 0

NIkon D700 stops working after installing BackyardNIKON 2.0.8 because of license server issue


zemanjf
 Share

Question

I've downloaded the Nikon fix and have 7 days left on the trial before I decide to purchase.  Since I've updated the software my Nikon D700 connects but get the following messages and disconnects.

17:32:24  Attempting to connect camera...
17:32:24  Nikon/D700 drivers initialized.

This camera worked before with the old release, but does not work since you had your issue. 

attached is my log

59d404d9e2637_logfile-20171003-17h26m08s701-4308-2017-10-03.txt

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Guylain has been generous with extending trial licenses for people with only limited ability to become comfortable with BYE/BYN. So don't be too overly worried about only having 7 days left. All you need to do is ask for an extension.

So you were using BYN 2.0.7 with a trial license when the licensing server went down. It was working OK but when you upgraded to 2.0.8 with the same trial license you now have the documented (in the log file) connection issue. Is that correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Yes, I will extend any trials to anyone that asks.  This is not a problem.

The bigger concern is if worked in 2.0.7 and not 2.0.8.  This is very odd.  Let me check source control between these 2 releases and I'll be back with a more definitive answer.

Sorry to have blown you off in the other thread :(

Regards, 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Okay, it appears I changed something with the saveto property and it seems to not play well with the D700.  I'll revert that change for the next release which should be in a few days with the new licensing server when it comes back on line.  It's been a crazy week :(

I'll give you another 30-day trial for sure.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
12 hours ago, admin said:

Okay, it appears I changed something with the saveto property and it seems to not play well with the D700.  I'll revert that change for the next release which should be in a few days with the new licensing server when it comes back on line.  It's been a crazy week :(

I'll give you another 30-day trial for sure.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Thanks Guys for the extra 30 days.   As a developer for the last 40 years, I thought sending the log file, you would be able to find the problem.  When the fix is done, give me a bump and I will download the new version.   From what I see now, it is a great software.  One question, in the PRO version, that is the one I expect I'm going to buy,  Will I be able to use the save to camera/computer on each image.  In the trial version, the photo only stays on the computer and will not save to the camera when I pick that option.

Thanks again, and I know what you are going thru as a developer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
31 minutes ago, zemanjf said:

Thanks Guys for the extra 30 days.   As a developer for the last 40 years, I thought sending the log file, you would be able to find the problem.  When the fix is done, give me a bump and I will download the new version.   From what I see now, it is a great software.  One question, in the PRO version, that is the one I expect I'm going to buy,  Will I be able to use the save to camera/computer on each image.  In the trial version, the photo only stays on the computer and will not save to the camera when I pick that option.

Thanks again, and I know what you are going thru as a developer.

Thank you for the kind words.  The trial = premium edition just that it has a 30-day limit period.  Unfortunately most older Nikon do not allow to save to card when tethered to the PC.  This appears to be the case with the D700.  So the short answer is no for that model :(

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 minute ago, admin said:

Thank you for the kind words.  The trial = premium edition just that it has a 30-day limit period.  Unfortunately most older Nikon do not allow to save to card when tethered to the PC.  This appears to be the case with the D700.  So the short answer is no for that model :(

No problem.  I will use the software for the focusing and test shots and pull the cable out of the camera to do my photos if I want to save to the card.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Actually, "Failing to Save to Card" is a bit of a Blessing-in-Disguise.  This is because NIKON requires that its SDK build some sort of Catalog of all Images on the Card BEFORE it will Connect to the PC.  (NIKON SDK, not BYN)

So, if you did as you proposed and then wanted to Reconnect to BYN, you'd be subjected to a wait that lasted somewhere between LONG and INTERMINABLE... 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
On 10/4/2017 at 9:02 AM, admin said:

Thank you for the kind words.  The trial = premium edition just that it has a 30-day limit period.  Unfortunately most older Nikon do not allow to save to card when tethered to the PC.  This appears to be the case with the D700.  So the short answer is no for that model :(

When I go into the software it shows that I have 5 days left.   Do you know when you have the D700 fixed in the new release so I can use it.  Do I need to go back to the older version?  Has the license issue been solved yet?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
9 minutes ago, zemanjf said:

When I go into the software it shows that I have 5 days left.   Do you know when you have the D700 fixed in the new release so I can use it.  Do I need to go back to the older version?  Has the license issue been solved yet?

 

Yes, I got a fix for the licensing server today but I need to test it further tomorrow.

Don't worry about the 5 days left, I will give you an additional 30 days.

You won't be able to go back, you'll need to use the new release when I'm down.  The old release references the old licensing server with is no longer accessible and therefor trials will need to use the new version.  Purchase keys can use older versions still.

Regards,

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies to offer your a better browsing experience. You can adjust your cookie settings. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies, our Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Use